Blog Posts

8 limbs of yoga – samadhi

Samadhi,  is the ultimate goal of yoga, union with the divine infinite bliss that is God. Arrival at this state can come from deep and constant dhyana (meditation). This is a state of consciousness described by many names.  I highly recommend further reading on the topic, but don’t get lost. Great gurus say this is a state that can only be known through experience, rather than intellectual grappling, therefore a steady yoga practice is recommended to know samadhi.

Samadhi – Video

8 limbs of yoga – dhyana (meditation)

Firstly, dhyana is a Sanskrit word that translates into “meditation”. In yoga meditation is defined as Dharana (concentration) focused on God. Once you can fully control your prana to draw it inward and concentrate that prana on God, Dhyana is the result. Since the study of Dhyana is beyond this article’s scope learn more here.

Dhyana – Video

8 limbs of yoga – dharana (focus, concentration)

Dharana refers to focus or concentration of the mind. The Sanskrit language birthed the term and Patanjali laid it out in his 8 limbs of yoga. The power of concentration can be strengthened by the practice of various scientific techniques offered in the corpus of yoga knowledge. Watch the video below and learn more here.

Click here for more info on Drishti (Gaze).

Dharana – Video

8 limbs of yoga – pratyahara (sense withdrawal)

The word Pratyahara comes from the Sanskrit language. Pratyahara fairly translates to “withdrawal of the senses“. When a yogi works towards deeper meditation the outward flow of prana is reveresed.  The prana that usually engaged in the 5 senses of taste, smell, sight, sound and touch is drawn inward towards the “6th sense”. Since the prana is now free from distraction of  it can be used to deepen explicit meditation.

Pratyahara – Video