8 limbs of yoga – dharana (focus, concentration)

Dharana refers to focus or concentration of the mind. The Sanskrit language birthed the term and Patanjali laid it out in his 8 limbs of yoga. The power of concentration can be strengthened by the practice of various scientific techniques offered in the corpus of yoga knowledge. Watch the video below and learn more here.

Click here for more info on Drishti (Gaze).

Dharana – Video

8 limbs of yoga – pratyahara (sense withdrawal)

The word Pratyahara comes from the Sanskrit language. Pratyahara fairly translates to “withdrawal of the senses“. When a yogi works towards deeper meditation the outward flow of prana is reveresed.  The prana that usually engaged in the 5 senses of taste, smell, sight, sound and touch is drawn inward towards the “6th sense”. Since the prana is now free from distraction of  it can be used to deepen explicit meditation.

Pratyahara – Video

8 limbs of yoga – pranayama (energy, breathing)

Learn a bit about Pranayama in the video below. The great sage Patanjali notes pranyama in the 8 limbs of yoga. Firstly, “prana” comes from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to “life force energy”. Pranayama refers to the practice of manipulating prana by scientific techniques. This is a deep and broad topic, therefore I encourage you to study the topic further.

Pranayama – Video

8 limbs of yoga – asanas (poses)

This is a brief monologue on the meaning of asana. Asana is one of the branches from Patanjali’s 8 limbs of yoga. This is suitable for anyone new to a yoga practice.

The word “asana” comes from the ancient Sanskrit language. Asana roughly translates to “seat” in English. The word is commonly used to refer to the postures or poses of physical yoga practice.

Asana (Poses)