8 limbs of yoga – the yamas (social disciplines)

This is an overview of the yamas of the 8 limbs of yoga as laid out by the great sage Patanjali. The yamas consist of 5 sub-limbs. Each is listed below and briefly addressed in the video. The depth of each sub-limb is exceedingly vast, thus further study is recommended by the author.

Yamas – Social Disciplines

ahimsa – non violence
satya – truth
asteya – non stealing
bramacharya – non excess (attachment to Bramah)
aparigraha – non attachment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *